WPIntell

Source evidence

Forced data collection

Timeline Widget For Elementor (Elementor Timeline, Vertical & Horizontal Timeline) · support · 2025-07-02T07:56:00+00:00

mixedsentiment
mediumseverity
0.84relevance
2replies
Evidence linked to opportunitycommercial context

Proof Health

Open evidence

Commercial opportunities need traceable source links before they are treated as build-worthy.

6 / 35 rows with source links

17.1% of this page's analysis has direct source links.

0 build-decision rows missing links

0 rows here require auditable proof before promotion.

29 rows with no attached evidence

0 rows have source counts but still need direct links.

Conversation

support
shane77 resolved
I tried to deactivate the Timeline Widget Addon for Elementor plugin but couldn’t deactivate without consenting to Cool Plugins storing all submitted information before I could proceed with deactivation. This is very unusual I should be able to disable any plugin without being required to opt into data collection. This kind of forced consent raises concerns about the plugins compliance with WordPress guidelines. I had to remove the plugin manually via cPanel. Why is consent required just to deactivate the plugin? I’m pretty sure that breaks WordPress terms and conditions for plugins “Users must be able to deactivate a plugin at any time, for any reason, without consequence.” This topic was modified 11 months ago by shane77 . Hi @shane77 , Thanks so much for your feedback, and we completely understand your concern. Just to clarify — you’re not required to share any information in order to deactivate the plugin. You can simply click the “Skip and Deactivate” button, and the plugin will be deactivated right away without submitting any feedback or data. The consent checkbox is only there for users who choose to share feedback so we can follow up if needed — but it’s 100% optional. We appreciate you bringing this up and we’ll continue improving the experience to make it even clearer. Thank You. Hi @shane77, As there has been no response from your end, I am closing this query. If you still have an issue, you can create a new topic here. Thank You.

Comments

2 shown
Aniket Dogra 2025-07-02T09:09:00+00:00

Hi @shane77 , Thanks so much for your feedback, and we completely understand your concern. Just to clarify — you’re not required to share any information in order to deactivate the plugin. You can simply click the “Skip and Deactivate” button, and the plugin will be deactivated right away without submitting any feedback or data. The consent checkbox is only there for users who choose to share feedback so we can follow up if needed — but it’s 100% optional. We appreciate you bringing this up and we’ll continue improving the experience to make it even clearer. Thank You.

Aniket Dogra 2025-07-15T07:42:00+00:00

Hi @shane77, As there has been no response from your end, I am closing this query. If you still have an issue, you can create a new topic here. Thank You.